Soon to be EVS in Slovenia

Posted: 17/02/2014 by Ej!KArtica in FEEL SLOVENIA
Tags: , ,

evsIn front of you is an interview with Sixtine, a young enthusiastic girl from France who decided to live and work in Slovenia as an EVS (European Voluntary Service) volunteer. Why did she choose Slovenia and what are here expectations? Maybe the following words will encourage you to make a similar international move, but fur sure they will broaden your view on youth mobility…

Why did you decide for EVS?

Since I started studying (2007), I’ve been doing several internships in France and abroad, which I enjoyed a lot, but unfortunately, I only had the chance to stay one, two or three months. Since I graduated with a triple master degree in 2013, I’ve been looking for a long term position but I found only short term positions and internships. I’ve been looking at my CV and realized that what is missing is a long term experience, being a part of a team for a whole year. As I still wanted to work abroad in the field of Culture, Media and Communication I decided to look a little bit closer at the Youth in Action programme and especially in the EVS case. Everything  seemed to fit what I was looking for, so I just dug into it.

sisi ljubljanaWhy did you choose Slovenia? Ljubljana?

I had the chance to take part in the Erasmus Programme in Ljubljana in the Academic year of 2009/2010. Since then, I felt in love with Slovenia, and especially Ljubljana. Human-sized, the city appears to me like a dolls house, perfectly shaped and romantically arranged, with its old center, and very contemporary districts like Bezigrad, mixing concrete, older architecture and green spots. Culturally, it is perfectly balanced, Balkan craziness, Central European class, and Adriatic beauty. In between mountains and sea, it actually reminds me of my region in France, more than people could imagine. So, there I just feel like I fit in the whole ensemble of sets.

*For more of Sisi’s photo impressions of Ljubljana click here!

What do you expect from your EVS experience?

I expect maturity and productivity on my side. I expect my life to be better defined in the next 12 months. I expect happiness to be here every morning, and a lot of fun with my new colleagues. I also challenge myself to speak Slovene (one can dream uh?🙂 )

What do you think you can offer to your host organization?

I can offer a wide range of ideas on mobility choices and process. I can offer simplified communication process if you have to deal with French administration (haha). I can offer a very high motivation and last but not least, I can offer some baguette!

What do you think you will gain from your new working environment?

Regularity and satisfaction? There is nothing as bad as being unemployed and feeling useless.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Eating crêpes in Tivoli with my children? Haha, I don’t know, probably doing a job that wasn’t invented yet, … (I am very positive).

evs

evs1

For more information on EVS click here or here, for information in Slovenian follow this link.

Leave a Reply

